© Tony Trichanh

VuThéara Kham

VuThéara Kham was born in 1982 into a Cambodian family in Valognes (Normandy).

In 2011, he discovered Instagram and mobile photography. He had never taken a photo before using the iPhone.

This adopted Parisian then posts daily photographs of the capital, snapshots that very quickly attract 200,000 subscribers to his account, designed like a logbook, a newspaper with its slices of life. Instagram is for him a new territory of experimentation that offers maximum visibility, without intermediaries.

If this notoriety has enabled him to become a professional photographer since 2014, he hasn’t forgotten to continue to immortalize Paris and his signature has imposed itself: it testifies to his taste for the simple things, the natural.

His travels took him to Iran, Cambodia, the United States and Vietnam, but Paris remains his anchor point: with “Soul of Paris”, fifteen or so photographs of the city of light are brought to life, in large format, inside a unique limited edition object.

Vuthéara Kham arrived in Paris in 2007 for a web designer internship. He discovered photography through the mobile phone and installed the Instagram app in 2011 on his smartphone, rather by chance, after a viral image posted on his Facebook account.
The iPhone, used to listen to music, gradually became his camera. Over the years, for 5-6 years, he took pictures of Parisian street scenes on his free time, then this passion became an obsession, almost an addiction. Until 2014, he only used the iPhone. Its visibility with the public increased thanks to its regular posts, sometimes up to three photos a day, until the purchase of Instagram by Facebook and the availability of the app on Android.

Building on its success on the image sharing platform – in 2012, it is considered the “first instagramor” of France with its 200,000 subscribers – it is first requested in 2013 by a publisher to publish its work: it will be the book “Point of Vuth” at the editions of La Martinière.

Since 2014, the SLR has replaced the iPhone, which it uses only occasionally. He became a professional photographer for institutional commissions that take him around the world.

However, in parallel with his career, he continues to pay daily tribute to his favourite city. His rigour, his eye and his sensitivity contribute to produce a corpus of images where emotion, humor and grace are reminiscent of those of Sempé’s drawings to capture the little flaws that make all the salt of the reputation of Parisians…

His work has attracted more than a million Instagram followers.

News

Her works

Soul of Paris

This publication is both a photographic tribute to Paris, the adopted city of
photographer, and a physical trace dedicated to the community of more than a million subscribers who
follow the posts on his Instagram account.

It allows a transition from the virtual to the real, from the fluid image to the photograph that one touches,
from a light screen to an object to be collected, offered or displayed at home.

The Paris of Vuthéara Kham is a footbridge that takes us back to the Paris of photographers
who preceded him, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Brassaï, Frank Horvat, Robert Doisneau and Saul
Leiter, Peter Cornelius or Robert Capa.

VuThéara Kham

© Tony Trichanh

VuThéara Kham

VuThéara Kham est né en 1982 au sein d’une famille cambodgienne à Valognes (Normandie).

En 2011, il découvre Instagram et la photographie mobile. Il n’avait jamais fait de photo avant d’utiliser l’iPhone.

Ce Parisien d’adoption poste alors chaque jour des photographies de la capitale, des instantanés qui attirent très vite 200.000 abonnés sur son compte, conçu comme un carnet de bord, un journal avec ses tranches de vie. Instagram est pour lui un nouveau territoire d’expérimentation qui offre un maximum de visibilité, sans intermédiaire.

Si cette notoriété lui a permis de devenir photographe professionnel depuis 2014, il n’en oublie pas pour autant de continuer à immortaliser Paris et sa signature s’est imposée : elle témoigne de son goût pour les choses simples, le naturel.

Ses voyages le mènent en Iran, au Cambodge, aux États-Unis, au Vietnam, mais Paris reste son point d’ancrage : avec « Soul of Paris », c’est une quinzaine de photographies de la ville-lumière qui sont mises à l’honneur, en grand format, à l’intérieur d’un objet unique en édition limitée.

VuThéara Kham est arrivé à Paris en 2007 pour un stage de web designer. Il a découvert la photographie grâce au téléphone mobile et a installé l’application Instagram en 2011 sur son smartphone, plutôt par hasard, après une image virale postée sur son compte Facebook.
L’iPhone, utilisé pour écouter de la musique, est devenu peu à peu son appareil photo. Au fil du temps et ce pendant 5-6 ans, il a réalisé des photos de scènes de rue parisiennes sur son temps libre, puis cette passion est devenue une obsession, presque une addiction. Jusqu’en 2014, il n’utilisait que l’iPhone. Sa visibilité auprès du public s’est accrue grâce à ses posts réguliers, parfois jusqu’à trois photos par jour, jusqu’au rachat d’Instagram par Facebook et la disponibilité de l’application sur Android.

Fort de son succès sur la plateforme de partage d’images – en 2012, il est considéré comme le « premier instagrameur » de France avec ses 200 000 abonnés –, il est sollicité une première fois en 2013 par un éditeur pour publier son travail : ce sera le livre « Point of Vuth » chez les éditions de La Martinière.

Depuis 2014, le reflex a remplacé l’iPhone qu’il n’utilise qu’à l’occasion. Il est devenu photographe professionnel pour des commandes institutionnelles qui le font voyager aux quatre coins du monde.

Néanmoins, en parallèle de sa carrière, il continue au quotidien de rendre hommage à sa ville de prédilection. Sa rigueur, son œil et sa sensibilité concourent à produire un corpus d’images où l’émotion, l’humour et la grâce ne sont pas sans rappeler ceux des dessins de Sempé pour saisir les petits travers qui font tout le sel de la réputation des Parisiens…

Son travail séduit aujourd’hui plus de un million d’abonnés sur Instagram.

Actualités

Ses oeuvres

Soul of Paris

Cette publication est à la fois un hommage photographique à Paris, la ville d’adoption du
photographe, et une trace matérielle dédiée à la communauté de plus d’un million d’abonnés qui
suivent les publications de son compte Instagram.

Elle permet un passage du virtuel au réel, de l’image fluide à la photographie que l’on touche,
d’un écran lumineux à un objet à collectionner, à offrir ou à exposer chez soi.

Le Paris de VuThéara Kham est une passerelle qui nous ramène vers le Paris des photographes
qui l’ont précédé, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Brassaï, Frank Horvat, Robert Doisneau ou encore Saul
Leiter, Peter Cornelius ou Robert Capa.