Pierre-Alain Balmer

Pierre-Alain Balmer was born 1965. He knows Geneva well since he lives and works there, surrounded by his musician wife and his two big daughters. Computer engineer, he practises photography as an enlightened amateur. Indeed, from the age of 9, he received his first camera and got acquainted with the photographic medium. As a teenager, he bought his first film reflex and developed his own films in his own laboratory.

It is during a trip to New York, in 2011, that he resumes his photographic activity in a very serious way. He decided to follow various workshops in Switzerland, France and the United Kingdom with professional photographers to perfect his technique and develop his artistic vision.

Inspired by photographers such as Sabine Weiss, Reto Albertalli, Karolin Klüppel, Philippe Pache, Denis Rouvre and Henry Cartier Bresson, his gaze is that of a humanist photographer who expresses himself more particularly in the making of his portraits.

His project «Fragile» addresses the issue of precariousness in Geneva through a series of black and white portraits, which he associates with intimate images or snapshots of our urban and anonymous environment. This work was recognized during the Nuit de la Photo 2019 at La Chaux-de-Fonds, where he was a finalist for the reading of portfolios. Exhibited in Geneva in 2020, «Fragile» is also the subject of the publication of an eponymous book, the photographer’s first work.

News

Her works

Fragile

The city of Geneva, like all of Switzerland, embodies opulence, wealth and success for many.

Yet, behind this flourishing socio-economic facade, lies another facet of the city, paradoxical, that we must take the trouble to observe to give it a face.

This is what photographer Pierre-Alain Balmer undertook.

Pierre-Alain Balmer

Pierre-Alain Balmer

Pierre-Alain Balmer est né en 1965. Il connaît bien Genève puisque c’est là qu’il vit et travaille, entouré de son épouse musicienne et de ses deux grandes filles. Ingénieur informaticien, il pratique la photographie en amateur éclairé. En effet, dès l’âge de 9 ans, il reçoit son premier appareil photo et fait connaissance avec le médium photographique. À l’adolescence, il achète son premier reflex argentique et développe lui-même ses films dans son propre laboratoire.

C’est lors d’un voyage à New York, en 2011, qu’il reprend son activité photographique de façon très sérieuse. Il décide de suivre différents workshops en Suisse, France et au Royaume-Uni avec des photographes professionnels pour parfaire sa technique et développer son regard artistique.

Inspiré par des photographes tels que Sabine Weiss, Reto Albertalli, Karolin Klüppel, Philippe Pache, Denis Rouvre ou Henry Cartier Bresson, son regard est celui d’un photographe humaniste qui s’exprime plus particulièrement dans la facture de ses portraits.

Son projet « Fragile » aborde la question de la précarité à Genève par le biais, justement, d’une série de portraits en noir et blanc, qu’il associe à des images intimes ou à des instantanés de notre environnement urbanisé et anonyme. Ce travail a été salué lors de la Nuit de la Photo 2019 à la Chaux-de-Fonds, où il fut finaliste de la lecture de portfolios. Exposé à Genève en 2020, « Fragile » fait également l’objet de la parution d’un livre éponyme, premier ouvrage du photographe.

Actualités

Ses oeuvres

Fragile

La ville de Genève, à l’image de la Suisse toute entière, incarne pour beaucoup l’opulence, la richesse, la réussite.

Pourtant, derrière cette façade socio-économique florissante, se cache une autre facette de la ville, paradoxale, qu’il faut se donner la peine d’observer pour lui donner un visage.

C’est ce qu’a entrepris le photographe Pierre-Alain Balmer.