Laurent Delhourme

Born in Bordeaux, Laurent Delhourme has lived in Paris for over 25 years. After studying audiovisual, he became a professional portrait photographer from 1997. In addition to the numerous advertising campaigns he carries out, his portraits are published in various French and foreign magazines.

Fascinated by the image, Laurent Delhourme moved from 2001 to the camera as a complement to his photographic work. Director and chief operator, he has since directed many documentary and advertising films. Among its latest series, a commission from the Grand Palais, on the occasion of the next closure of the monument for works.

At the same time, for several years, he has walked the streets of Paris, Leica in hand. He photographs people and looks at them with no bias or judgment. It seeks to capture the invisible in the everyday lives of the people it meets. Each of his photos is connected to a story, a singular moment. In the tradition of humanist photography, Laurent was inspired by the work of Elliott Erwitt, Garry Winogrand and Henri Cartier-Bresson.

Far from a journalistic approach, he wanted to document his time. Macadam Paname, the book he presents here, his first, is the culmination of many years of capturing the strangeness of reality in the streets of the capital.

BOOK

MACADAM PANAME

$72

Laurent Delhourme delivers in Macadam Paname a new approach to street photography.
The look, in black and white, is not peeping, it is amused. It is that of a curious child who marvels at the unusual and discovers for us, in the streets of Paris, burlesque situations or incongruities with poetic impulses. The graphic staging by diptychs reveals while sublimating the daily life of a city that often escapes the Parisians too much in a hurry or tourists in a rush.

BACKGROUND

2020

Publication of the book MACADAM PANAME

2019

PARIS PHOTO
Solo Exhibition November, 12

NEWS

Laurent Delhourme

Natif de Bordeaux, Laurent Delhourme vit à Paris depuis plus de 25 ans. Après des études en audiovisuel, il devient photographe professionnel spécialisé dans le portrait à partir de 1997. À côté des nombreuses campagnes de publicité qu’il réalise, ses portraits sont publiés dans différents magazines français et étrangers.

Passionné par l’image, Laurent Delhourme passe, à partir de 2001, à la caméra en complément de son travail photographique. Réalisateur et chef opérateur, il a depuis réalisé de nombreux films documentaires et publicitaires. Parmi ses dernières séries, une commande du Grand Palais, à l’occasion de la prochaine fermeture du monument pour travaux.

Parallèlement, depuis plusieurs années, il arpente les rues de Paris, Leica en main. Il photographie les gens et pose sur eux un regard sans parti pris ni jugement. Il cherche à capter l’invisible dans le quotidien des personnes qu’il croise. Chacune de ses photos est connectée à un récit, une histoire, un instant singulier. S’inscrivant dans la filiation de la photographie humaniste, Laurent s’inspire du travail d’Elliott Erwitt, de Garry Winogrand et de Henri Cartier-Bresson.

Loin d’une démarche journalistique, il souhaite plutôt documenter son époque. Macadam Paname, le livre qu’il présente ici, son premier, est l’aboutissement de longues années à capter les étrangetés du réel dans les rues de la capitale.

LIVRE

MACADAM PANAME

65€

Laurent Delhourme livre dans Macadam Paname une nouvelle approche de la photographie de rue.
Le regard, en noir et blanc, n’est pas voyeur, il est amusé. C’est celui d’un enfant curieux qui s’émerveille devant l’insolite et découvre pour nous, dans les rues de Paris, situations burlesques ou incongruités aux élans poétiques. Les mises en scène graphiques par diptyques dévoilent tout en le sublimant le quotidien d’une ville qui souvent échappe aux parisiens trop pressés ou aux touristes en goguette.

PARCOURS

2020

Parution du Livre MACADAM PANAME

2019

PARIS PHOTO
Exposition solo le 12 novembre

ACTUALITÉS

Hemeria à Paris Photo 2019

RETROUVEZ-NOUS DEVANT LE COMMISSARIAT GÉNÉRAL DÈS LE 6 NOVEMBRE 2019. Hemeria est partenaire de Paris Photo pour la seconde année consécutive. Pour cette édition 2019,

Lire plus »