Laurent Ballesta

Laurent Ballesta is a naturalist photographer, born in Montpellier in 1974.

Now author of 13 books dedicated to underwater photography, he is the youngest photographer to receive the «Plongeur d’Or» at the International Underwater Image Festival in Antibes, and the only one to have obtained it three times. He has published portfolios in major magazines of the French and International press: three unreleased topics in National Geographic and an appointment turned annual in Paris-Match. He also publishes regularly inStern, GQ, Le Figaro Magazine, VSD, Science, Ça m’intéresse, Daily Mail, View, Corriere Magazine, Terres Sauvages, Sciences & Vie, etc.

In 2000, with Pierre Descamp, he founded the association L’Œil d’Andromède, whose aim was to reconcile the study of oceanology and the artistic valorisation of the marine environment, which in 2008 led to the creation of a society, Andromède Océanologie.

In 1999, he became marine science advisor for the prime time TV show Ushuaia Nature alongside explorer and presenter Nicolas Hulot. For 12 years, he took advantage of these trips to exceptional places to bring with him some rolls of film.

In 2006, the Senate of the French Republic paid tribute to his work with a public photographic exhibition entitled «Planète Mers» from the eponymous book. He is the youngest photographer to have been exposed on the grids of the Jardin du Luxembourg in Paris. Twenty exhibitions around the world will follow.

In 2007, he took the deepest photograph ever taken by a diver in -190 m of water, off Nice. With this deep-diving know-how, he made in May 2009 a confidential expedition to South Africa to realize an old dream: diving with Gombessa (the local name of the coelacanth) and return the very first photograph of the living fossil taken by a diver to a depth of 120 m. Five years later, this mission will lead to the first GOMBESSA expedition to perform the first scientific protocols on a live coelacanth specimen, at -120 m.

Laurent Ballesta also initiated the production of numerous documentary films for French and international television and directed 4 expeditions GOMBESSA. Each new project is in line with previous projects and further strengthens the3 pillars of his expeditions: a scientific mystery, a diving challenge and the promise of new animal images.

Following these missions, Laurent published in January 2014 Gombessa, rencontre avec le coelacanthe, the only photographic collection on this mythical fish. He presents his best images, those of the coelacanth and his environment, and writes the story of this adventure that lasted 3 years.

Then, in 2016, following the Gombessa III expedition to Adelie Land, he co-signed with Vincent Munier Adélie Terre & Mer two books that bring together the views of photographers, Munier on the ice and Ballesta under the surface, revealing the marine fauna and lush deep gardens of Antarctica, never before plunged or illustrated.

In 2017, on his return from Gombessa IV to Fakarava South, on the edge of Tumakohua Pass (and Gombessa II in 2014), Laurent offered to see for the first time the reproductive ballet of camouflage groupers and the whirlwind hunts of the 700 sharks that inhabit this narrow opening. 700 sharks in the night is his latest work to date, the result of 4 years of expeditions, 3000 hours of cumulative night dives and 85000 photo triggers.

News

His works

700 sharks in the night book cover

700 sharks in the night

There are 700 of them say the scientists… but for Laurent Ballesta they are everywhere. Sharks clog the narrow beam horizon of its lamps, bump into its cameras, and force a passage between its fins. Dans cette horde où chacun s’acharne à survivre règne l’énergie des affamés. When a prey is hunted, a pack forms and chaos takes shape. Crazy choreography gets organized and ends in a shower of scales. To say they’re ruthless would make you smile. They are the predators of the ages.

Laurent Ballesta

Laurent Ballesta est photographe naturaliste, né à Montpellier en 1974.

Aujourd’hui auteur de 13 livres dédiés à la photographie sous-marine, il est le plus jeune photographe à recevoir le « Plongeur d’Or » au Festival international de l’image sous-marine d’Antibes, et le seul à l’avoir obtenu trois fois. Il a publié des portfolios dans des magazines majeurs de la presse française et Internationale : trois sujets inédits dans National Geographic et un rendez-vous devenu annuel dans Paris-Match. Il publie aussi régulièrement dans Stern, GQ, Le Figaro Magazine, VSD, Science, Ça m’intéresse, Daily Mail, View, Corriere Magazine, Terres Sauvages, Sciences & Vie, etc.

En 2000, il fonde avec Pierre Descamp l’association L’Œil d’Andromède ayant pour but de concilier l’étude océanologique et la valorisation artistique du milieu marin, qui aboutira en 2008 à la création d’une société, Andromède Océanologie.

En 1999, il devient conseiller scientifique en milieu marin pour l’émission TV en prime time Ushuaia Nature aux côtés de l’explorateur et présentateur Nicolas Hulot. Pendant 12 ans, il profite de ces voyages dans des lieux d’exception pour apporter avec lui quelques rouleaux de pellicule.

En 2006, le Sénat de la République Française rend hommage à son travail par une exposition photographique publique intitulée « Planète Mers » issue du livre éponyme. Il est le plus jeune photographe à avoir été exposé sur les grilles du Jardin du Luxembourg à Paris. Vingt expositions autour du monde suivront.

En 2007, il prend la photographie la plus profonde jamais faite par un plongeur à – 190 m de fond, au large de Nice. Fort de ce savoir-faire en plongée profonde, il réalise en mai 2009 une expédition confidentielle en Afrique du Sud pour réaliser un vieux rêve : plonger avec Gombessa (le nom local du coelacanthe) et ramener la toute première photo du fossile vivant prise par un plongeur à – 120 m de profondeur. Cinq ans plus tard, cette mission conduira à la première expédition GOMBESSA pour effectuer les premiers protocoles scientifiques sur un spécimen de cœlacanthe vivant, à – 120 m.

Laurent Ballesta a également initié la réalisation de nombreux films documentaires pour la télévision française et internationale et a dirigé 4 expéditions GOMBESSA. Chaque nouveau projet s’inscrit dans la lignée des précédents et renforce un peu plus les 3 piliers de ses expéditions : un mystère scientifique, un défi de plongée et la promesse d’images animalières inédites.

C’est suite à chacune de ces missions que Laurent publie en janvier 2014 Gombessa, rencontre avec le coelacanthe, le seul recueil photographique sur ce poisson mythique. Il y présente ses meilleures images, celles du coelacanthe et de son environnement, et écrit le récit de cette aventure qui a duré 3 ans.

Puis, en 2016, suite à l’expédition Gombessa III en Terre Adélie, il co-signe avec Vincent Munier Adélie Terre & Mer deux ouvrages réunissant les regards des photographes, Munier sur la glace et Ballesta sous la surface, dévoilant la faune marine et des jardins profonds luxuriants d’Antarctique, jamais plongés ni illustrés auparavant.

En 2017, à son retour de Gombessa IV à Fakarava sud, au bord de la passe de Tumakohua (et Gombessa II en 2014), Laurent offre à voir pour la première fois le ballet de reproduction des mérous camouflages et les chasses tourbillonnantes des 700 requins qui peuplent cette étroite échancrure. 700 requins dans la nuit est son dernier ouvrage à ce jour, fruit de 4 années d’expéditions, 3000 heures de plongées de nuit cumulées et 85000 déclenchements photographiques.

Actualités

Ses œuvres

Couverture de 700 requins dans la nuit

700 requins dans la nuit

Ils sont 700 disent les scientifiques… mais pour Laurent Ballesta ils sont partout. Les requins bouchent l’horizon étroit du faisceau de ses lampes, butent contre ses appareils photo, se rayent en force un passage entre ses palmes. Dans cette horde où chacun s’acharne à survivre règne l’énergie des affamés. Lorsque une proie est débusquée une meute se forme et le chaos prend sens. De folles chorégraphies s’organisent et finissent en pluie d’écailles. Dire qu’ils sont impitoyables ferait sourire. Ils sont les prédateurs du fond des âges.

Shopping cart

0

Votre panier est vide.

Hit Enter to search or Esc key to close