André Carrara

Born in Paris in 1939, André Carrara met photography very early and it was at the end of the 1950s that he first entered as an assistant to the SNIP. This advertising agency is a real hive where, in a very innovative spirit, designers, graphic designers or photographers like Willy Rizzo, Fouli Elia, Guy Bourdin or Jean-Bernard Naudin rub shoulders.

In 1963, he created for the agency his first series of shots, an advertising campaign for the woollen brand Korrigan.

Very noticed during its broadcast, this publication launches his career and opens new doors to him. Antoine Kieffer, then artistic director of Vogue France, struck by the quality of his black and white photographs, gave him his chance and commissioned him his first reports.

Everything accelerated when Hélène Lazareff, at the helm of Elle, the magazine she created in 1945, asked for it. He then joined other prestigious photographers and regular collaborators such as Helmut Newton or Hans Feurer. Claude Brouet is editor and director of the fashion section and Roman Cieslewicz has just joined as artistic director.

The arrival of the latter signals the revival of the model of the magazine which he transforms according to his own graphic vision, characterized by the clarity and simplicity of plastic expression. This collaboration is decisive: he perfects his style and signs with him many very graphic reports.

In the late 1960s, André Carrara embarked on a three-year trip to the United States, reporting for Mademoiselle, Glamour…

Returning to France in the early 1970s, he resumed his collaboration with Elle while publishing in numerous magazines as in the British, German and Italian editions of Vogue. At the same time, he became one of the main collaborators of the MAFIA advertising agency.

If, in the 1990s, at the request of Anna Wintour, André Carrara signed many topics for the American magazine Allure, the years 1980-2000 will be mainly the years Marie-Claire and Marie-Claire bis. Together with Paolo Roversi, Peter Lindberg, Helmut Newton or Sacha Van Dorssen, he is one of the main collaborators and during these prolific decades, he produces many of the most important subjects of his career and his most beautiful photos. They have toured the world, distributed thousands of copies in France and abroad, and they have entered our collective imagination.

BOOK

BOOK

REGARDS

59€

Regards shows several decades of the exceptional professional and artistic career of a photographer whose discretion and elegance reflect this monograph dedicated to him. Regards is an ode to femininity and woman in all its plurality: a timeless, universal, complex, daring, seductive, provocative, inaccessible, sometimes, beautiful, always.

It’s a journey to the heart of the work of one of the most captivating photographers of his generation, as much as a testimony on the representation of women in the society of an era that André Carrara crossed by putting his talent at the service of the greatest artistic directors of his time, such as Antoine Kieffer (Vogue France) or Roman Cieslewicz (Elle).

NEWS

André Carrara

Né à Paris en 1939, André Carrara rencontre très tôt la photographie et c’est à la fin des années 1950 qu’il entre d’abord comme assistant à la SNIP. Cette agence de publicité est une véritable ruche où se côtoient, dans un esprit très novateur, des dessinateurs, des graphistes ou des photographes comme Willy Rizzo, Fouli Elia, Guy Bourdin ou Jean-Bernard Naudin.

En 1963, il réalise pour l’agence sa première série de prises de vue, une campagne publicitaire pour la marque de lainage Korrigan.

Très remarquée lors de sa diffusion, cette parution lance sa carrière et lui ouvre de nouvelles portes. Antoine Kieffer, alors directeur artistique de Vogue France, frappé par la qualité de ses clichés noir et blanc, lui donne sa chance et lui commande ses premiers reportages.

Tout s’accélère lorsque Hélène Lazareff, aux commandes de Elle, le magazine qu’elle a créé en 1945, le sollicite. Il rejoint alors d’autres prestigieux photographes et collaborateurs réguliers comme Helmut Newton ou Hans Feurer. Claude Brouet y est rédactrice et directrice de la rubrique mode et Roman Cieslewicz vient d’y entrer comme directeur artistique.

L’arrivée de ce dernier signe le renouveau de la maquette du magazine qu’il transforme selon sa propre vision graphique, caractérisée par la clarté et la simplicité de l’expression plastique. Cette collaboration est pour André Carrara déterminante : il parfait son style et signe avec lui de nombreux reportages très graphiques.

À la fin des années 1960, André Carrara entreprend un voyage de trois ans aux États-Unis où il effectue des reportages pour Mademoiselle, Glamour… 

De retour en France au début des années 1970, il reprend sa collaboration à Elle tout en publiant dans de nombreux magazines comme dans les éditions britannique, allemande ou italienne de Vogue. Parallèlement, il devient l’un des principaux collaborateurs de l’agence de publicité MAFIA.

Si, dans les années 1990, à la demande d’Anna Wintour, André Carrara signe de très nombreux sujets pour le magazine américain Allure, les années 1980-2000 seront surtout les années Marie-Claire et Marie-Claire bis. Avec Paolo Roversi, Peter Lindberg, Helmut Newton ou Sacha Van Dorssen, il en est l’un des principaux collaborateurs et réalise au cours de ces décennies prolifiques de très nombreux sujets parmi les plus marquants de son parcours et ses plus belles photos. Celles-ci ont fait le tour du monde, diffusées à des milliers d’exemplaires en France comme à l’étranger, et elles sont entrées dans notre imaginaire collectif. 

PRÉSENTATION VIDÉO

LIVRE

REGARDS

59€

Regards raconte plusieurs décennies du parcours professionnel et artistique exceptionnel d’un photographe dont la discrétion et l’élégance sont à l’image de cette monographie qui lui est consacrée. Regards est une ode à la féminité et à la femme dans toute sa pluralité : une femme intemporelle, universelle, complexe, audacieuse, séduisante, provocante, inaccessible, parfois, belle, toujours.

C’est un voyage au cœur du travail d’un photographe parmi les plus captivants de sa génération, autant qu’un témoignage sur la représentation des femmes dans la société d’une époque qu’André Carrara a traversée en mettant son talent au service des plus grands directeurs artistiques de son temps, tels qu’Antoine Kieffer (Vogue France) ou Roman Cieslewicz (Elle).

ACTUALITÉS